

THE SURVEYORS BOARD of the NORTHERN TERRITORY

GPO Box 1680 DARWIN NT 0801 Facsimile: (08) 8999 7750

ANNUAL REPORT 2002/2003

INTRODUCTION

The Surveyors Board of the Northern Territory is constituted under section 8 of the *Licensed Surveyors Act*. In accordance with section 21 of the *Licensed Surveyors Act*, as amended by the *Financial Management (Consequential Amendments) Act* 1995, the Board has prepared the following report for the 2002/2003 financial year.

FUNCTIONS

The Functions of the Board are:

- (1) to keep and maintain a Register of licensed surveyors;
- (2) to conduct examinations for the registration of licensed surveyors;
- (3) to enter into reciprocal arrangements with other surveyors boards for the recognition of qualifications as a licensed surveyor;
- (4) to give directions on the practice to be followed by licensed surveyors in the making of boundary surveys;
- (5) to conduct such inquires and initiate appropriate penalties, if any, as are required under the Act, for contravention of the provisions of the Act; and
- (6) to set and collect such fees as are provided for by the Act.

THE BOARD

The Board consists of the Surveyor-General, who is ex-officio Chairman, and four surveyors appointed by the Minister. Two Members are appointed from three nominees of the Institution of Surveyors, Australia (NT Division), and two are direct appointments.

Membership for the year ending 30 June 2003 consisted of: -

Chairman : Mr G J West - As Surveyor-General he has been ex-officio

member and chairman since 8 July 2000.

Deputy Chairman: Mr T L Gadsby - Appointed 1 September 2000 from

applications received.

Other Members : Mr G L Leach - Appointed 28 February 1996 from nominations

made by the Institution of Surveyors, Australia. Re-appointed 1 September 2000 from nominations made by the Institution of

Surveyors, Australia.

: **Mr R I Sarib** - Appointed 29 February 2000 from nominations made by the Institution of Surveyors, Australia to replace Mr Montefiore. Re-appointed 1 September 2000 from nominations made by the Institution of Surveyors, Australia.

: **Mr P A Verrall -** Appointed 1 September 2000 from applications

received.

The current term of the appointed members expires on 30 August 2004.

STAFF

During the year, Mr D J Jeffery carried out the duties of Secretary to the Board. The mailing address of the Board is GPO Box 1680, DARWIN NT 0801, the telephone number is 8999 6067 and the website is www.lpe.nt.gov.au/info/survey/sboard.

MEETINGS

During the year the Board held four meetings in Darwin. Attendance by the members was: -

Member	Meetings Attended
Mr West (Chairman)	4
Mr Gadsby (Deputy Chairman)	4
Mr Leach	2
Mr Sarib	4
Mr Verrall	4

REGISTERED SURVEYORS

As required under section 22 of the Act, the names and addresses of surveyors registered to practise in the Northern Territory were published in Gazette R1 on 19 February 2003. This gazette listed 88 surveyors, a decrease of four on the number listed in the 2002 gazettal.

SUMMARY OF THE REGISTER OF SURVEYORS

Surveyors registered at 30 June 2002	92
New Registrations	
Per Letter of Accreditation from Reciprocating Boards	1
Per Certificate of Competency	0
Restoration	1
Removal of Name from Register	
Non- payment of Annual Fee	3
Removal at own request	1
Surveyors registered at 30 June 2003	90

TRAINING

After considering the practical experience and supervision requirements of the Professional Training Agreement, the Board decided to remove the practical examination from the professional assessment for graduates under a Professional Training Agreement. No professional assessment was held during the year.

The Board commenced the year with two training agreements for students undertaking training with licensed surveyors. One new student lodged a training agreement and one student withdrew, leaving two training agreements current on 30 June 2003.

FINANCE

The audited financial statements for the year ending 30 June 2003 are appended to this report. The Board had an operating surplus for the year of \$1,091. The Trust Account balance on the 30 June 2003 was \$10,643.

COUNCIL OF THE RECIPROCATING SURVEYORS' BOARDS OF AUSTRALIA AND NEW ZEALAND

The Council of the Reciprocating Surveyors' Boards of Australia and New Zealand (CRSBANZ) held meetings on 25 & 26 November 2002 in Adelaide and 28 May 2003 in Darwin.

Mr G West attended the meeting in Adelaide. Issues discussed, included:

- training for surveyors undertaking investigations for Surveyors' Boards;
- the impact of Occupational Health & Safety requirements on surveyors; and
- supervision of survey staff.

Mr G West and Mr R Sarib attended the meeting in Darwin at which Mr G West was elected as chairman of the CRSBANZ from 7 July 2003. Additional issues discussed included:

- registration of mine surveyors;
- professional development and maintenance of competence; and
- protection of cadastral control marks.

DISCIPLINARY MATTERS

A complaint was received about two surveyors. The Board commenced the inquiry into this matter.

SURVEY PRACTICE DIRECTIONS

The new Survey Practice Directions have been completed and will be implemented in the near future. The directions include procedures for surveying within a declared Coordinated Survey Area.

No Coordinated Survey Area had been declared at 30 June 2003.

DATED AT DARWIN ON 11 th FEBRUARY 2004

Ğ J WEST

CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD